Final Learning Reflection – CEP810

ipad-608206_640
“Ipad, Tablet, Samsung-Smartphone” by FirmBee
CC0 Public Domain.

What is learning? How do the learning processes of experts and novices differ? Creating a WordPress blog, working with Google Docs, completing a Networked Learning Project, examining Professional Learning Networks, working with Popplet, Feedly, Flipboard, Twitter, Google bookmarks, Wunderlist, and YouTube, a 21st century lesson plan, A cooking with TPACK activity, and examining the use of Creative Commons together created a remarkable and dynamic learning experience and journey in CEP810!

The Learning with Novices and Experts” essay in Week 1 of the course set the tone for the weeks of learning to follow. My idea of learning and how different groups of individuals learn, changed during the duration of this course and I have already started to look at the courses and students that I teach in a different light. Leo Lionni’s “Fish is Fish” story  (Random House, 1974) taught me that different life experiences can help us to grow and expand our concepts and views of the world so we can look back on “change” and what we once resisted, and see it from a perspective that is more welcoming and positive.

When it comes to the use of technology in education, Dr. Mishra’s statement “a lecture is still a lecture” within the Explore, Create, Share mashup on YouTube, really hit home with me. Whether you listen to a lecture as a podcast, read it within a textbook, or watch it on YouTube, it’s still a lecture. The focus is on the content, not on the device on which it’s delivered.  The way that Dr. Mishra described TPACK as being a “total package” in his Keynote speech at the 21st Century Learning Conference in 2012, where technology, pedagogy, and content are integrated and overlap in different areas, was an eye-opening and “aha” moment for me. I never heard of TPACK before this course and after the “Cooking with TPACK” project, I get it. It’s repurposing at its finest! It’s about using technology and the tools and resources it provides, to help us learn and complete a given task in a different way, to think outside of the box, and “play” – this opens up the door to discovery.

TPACK image
Reproduced by permission of the publisher, © 2012 by tpack.org. http://tpack.org

I had the opportunity in this course to examine my Professional Learning Network using Popplet. Not only was Popplet a fun tool to play with, it also visually made me realize that over 50% of my current PLN is web-based. I realized that I rely heavily on technology for getting information, education, teaching, collaborating, and communication. I don’t see this as being negative in any way; I see it as an opportunity to grow my PLN in different areas.

Current PLN created using Popplet
PLN using Popplet

I also discovered new technologies and apps to add to my repertoire and realized that certain technologies can be used to increase productivity and efficiency. For example, I now use Wunderlist daily to create and organize my to-do lists and Flipboard to keep current with what’s happening in industry and in turn, I can share that information with my students.

Cover stories. Highlights from everything you follow  To-do list, Reminders, Errands!

I really had an opportunity to look at things from a different side of view and dive deep into learning during the “Networked Learning Project” where only online resources were used to learn a new skill. I had one of greatest learning experiences during this project and was able to experience learning as my students would in an online course. This project alone has already made me modify some of the course materials in my classes. I am including more video explanations and more detailed instructions in areas where things may need further explanation.

The information regarding Creative Commons Licensing is huge! I will be implementing what I have learned into my courses where students are creating website projects where copyrighted materials may be being used. This will become a requirement for the student’s projects next semester. In the past I didn’t place much emphasis on this area but after learning what I have in this course, I realize its importance and it will be emphasized going forward in the courses that I teach. It will also make the students more aware of copyrighted materials and the licensing behind them.

Creative Commons Logo

I have been teaching web programming courses for over 13 years and working with technology on a daily basis and the knowledge that I gained in a variety of areas from this course is incredible, learning never ceases to end. I have had an absolutely awesome learning experience, which not only has taught me a lot about myself as an educator but also as a student. I looked at networking, learning, exploring, playing, communicating, and sharing from a different point of view and in so many ways it helped me discover how much more there is to learn and experience in this field. This gained knowledge has opened up so many doors and opportunities; it’s difficult to put into words how this course alone has already transformed my way of thinking and teaching.

How do I better engage students in online discussion forums? How do I get students more engaged and excited about collaborating and sharing via social media without having a grade or points assigned to it? These are few questions that I’m searching for answers to as my journey continues.

Leave a Reply

