Getting things done!

I added two new tools to my professional workflow tool belt this week: Wunderlist and Google Bookmarks.

I normally use a very “low tech” option to manage my daily “to-do” items: paper and pencil. Although this works fairly well for me most of the time, I often end up with a lot of sticky notes or pieces of paper, I can only access the list at home, and sometimes the list gets misplaced. Enter Wunderlist, a simple task management tool“. This is a very easy-to-use tool that can be accessed through a web browser or a mobile app. I installed it on my phone, tablet, and also installed the plugin for the web browsers that I use on my other computers.

I started using Wunderlist this week, took a few minutes to create my “to-do” items, categorized things, and was good to go. Throughout the day whenever something pops into my head that I need to do, I add it to Wunderlist and go on with my day. Almost immediately after adding it to my list, I felt a sense of relief and best of all, no more sticky notes! Even more relief came when I completed a task and it was removed from the list. Love the “sound” of getting something done!

Wunderlist

I have bookmarks galore among the various browsers that I use and no two lists are the same. I am now using Google Bookmarks as a repository for my bookmarks. You can easily had a bookmarklet to the bookmarks bar in your browser and when you find a resource you want to bookmark, just click the bookmarklet and it adds it to the Google Bookmarks repository. Super easy to use but you do need a Google account. I already used it multiple times. You can add labels and notes to the bookmark for your own use, which is a really nice organizational feature.
googlebookmarkslist

I would definitely recommend both Wunderlist and Google Bookmarks. Both tools are free, user-friendly, convenient, and mobile friendly!

Leave a Reply

