Learning with Novices & Experts

During the first week of class in CEP 810 at Michigan State University, I was asked to write an essay based on my reading and understanding of Bransford, Brown & Cocking’s (2000) How People Learn. The Learning with Novices and Experts essay can be found and responds to two key questions:

  1. What is learning?
  2. How do the learning processes of experts and novices differ?

I reflect on the definition of learning and the differences between novice and expert students and how each can complement each other’s learning which in turn, can alter their perceived way of entering into a situation based on their understanding of new ideas. I hope you find my reflection on the topic interesting and I openly welcome comments and feedback. Enjoy!

One thought on “Learning with Novices & Experts

  1. Jacqueline, I like your example of group work between experts and novices and using experts to help with novices misconceptions. I wonder if a student is truly an expert how their ability to teach or explain misconceptions would come into play since the article stated that often experts struggle to teach their same knowledge. I struggled reading this article and wondering at what age we would think students are “experts”? Is that possible at even, say high school? In Malcom Gladwell’s book The Outliers he says it takes 10,000 hours of practicing something correctly to be an expert. By the numbers that is 20 hours of work a week for 10 years. I know our goal is to have experts, I just wonder at what age that is an actual reality?

Leave a comment